196 E. 6th St., Suite 200
Sioux Falls, SD 57104
(605) 679-7149

McCook County

McCook County is located in southeastern South Dakota. It includes an area of 576 square miles and a population of 5,725 as of 2024.  Its county seat is Salem.  The county was established in 1873 and was organized in 1878. It was named for the former governor of the Dakota Territory and Civil War general Edwin Stanton McCook. McCook County is a part of the Sioux Falls, SD Metropolitan Statistical Area and is comprised of five incorporated communities (Bridgewater, Canistota, Montrose, Salem, and Spencer) and sixteen townships.

McCook County

Median Resident Age      39.5     (2022 ACS 5-year Estimates)

Per Capita Income            $34,242          (2022 ACS 5-year Estimates)

Households             2,218   (2022 ACS 5-year Estimates)

Median Household Income        $74,873          (2022 ACS 5-year Estimates)

Educational Attainment                         (2022 ACS 5-year Estimates): 

Graduate Degree:                                8%

Bachelor’s Degree:                                19.7%

Some College or Associate Degree: 30.4%

High School Diploma:                          34.4%

Less Than High School Diploma:       7.4%

Total Workforce:  3,193

Top 5 Industries by Employment         (2022 ACS 5-year Estimates)

            Education / Health Care                630

Agriculture                                       410

            Finance/Insurance/Real Estate   328

            Construction                                    222

            Professional Services                      218

Top States contributing to the MSA’s Population Growth:

  1. Minnesota
  2. California
  3. Colorado
  4. Iowa
  5. Nebraska